Friday, 14 December 2012 19:53


Written by
Rate this item
(0 votes)

CoOp logo


The Wrexham Supporters Trust has received the prestigious "Community Co-operative of the Year" accolade in the inaugural Robert Owen Awards, launched by The Co-operative Group this month.

Robert Owen Award 2012 - Wrexham S TrustJeff Cuthbert, Deputy Minister, presented the Robert Owen Award to Peter Jones WST Chairman, Dave Jones and Tom Standford, WST Board Members

 Almost a year ago, supporters of Wrexham FC, the oldest football club in Wales, bought their beloved club. Wrexham FC is now part of a growing number of
football clubs, including the famous FC Barcelona, operated as supporter owned co-operatives.

The Wrexham Supporters Trust secured the future of the institution for the benefit of is members and community while flying the flag for the co-operative model in Wales.

Vaughan Rigby, Chair of The Co-operative Group in North Wales, said: "The Robert Owen Awards have been created to highlight and recognise the exceptional work of those who work tirelessly for great community causes across Wales.

Named after the founding father of the co-operative movement, the Robert OwenCommunity Co-operative of the Year award presented to the Supporters Trust was fully deserved as their long-standing commitment to this historic community asset has been truly outstanding. The club has not only been successful off the field as Wrexham is having a great season on the field too, and we wish them the best of luck as they strive for promotion back into the football league."

The Robert Owen Awards were presented by Jeff Cuthbert, the Welsh Government's Deputy Minister for Skills as part of the annual Robert Owen lunch, which brings together co-operators from across Wales. Owen - who was born in Newtown,Powys, in 1771 - is seen as the founding father of the co-operative movement.